Mess free painting – baby sensory activity

Somehow my phone storage is full AGAIN so I’ve been sorting through some old photos and videos. I came across some from a year ago – back when my baby was still a baby – when we tried out mess free painting. 

It’s a great activity because it incorporates tummy time and new textures and sensations. Plus I did it with items I already had in the house so it was totally free! Ollie was fascinated by the different colours. He wasn’t too sure about the texture at first but once he’d investigated a little he found it hilarious squishing the paints together. It also kept him distracted meaning he got a good amount of tummy time! 

At the time I just used what I had to hand which was cling film. I put a piece of paper on a baking tray, stretched cling film over it and taped it in place underneath…simple! 


It worked pretty well but cling film is a bit flimsy so if you have a grabby baby like mine, it could tear. I’ve done this activity since with a sealable freezer bag and it’s a much better for toddlers. 

Just grab a bag, put a few blobs of paint in, seal and secure it wherever you like with some tape. I chose the patio door because Ollie doesn’t like being sat still for too long and I could put it at the right height for him. I left I there for the afternoon so he could come back to it whenever he wanted! 



At 14 months old, he just like mixing the colours together and moving the paint around the bag, but as you can draw pictures or shapes in the paint. 
I’ll definitely be using this again when Ollie gets a bit older to help him develop his fine motor skills and practice drawing and writing! 

6 thoughts on “Mess free painting – baby sensory activity

Leave a Reply

